2018 Airey Neave Memorial Book Prize – CALL FOR ENTRIES

We are delighted to announce the launch of the 2018 Airey Neave Memorial Book Prize (the “Neave” Prize) which is sponsored by Pool Reinsurance Ltd, the Government backed terrorism reinsurance scheme.

This is the second year that the Neave Prize is being held. Last year’s prize, awarded by Lord Evans of Weardale (former Director of MI5) was won by Ali Soufan for his Anatomy of Terror.  

The Neave Prize is awarded annually to the work of non-fiction which the Judging Panel considers to have made the most significant, original, relevant, and practically valuable contribution to the understanding of terrorism. The first Prize will be awarded to the author(s) of a book published in the English language between 16 July and 13 July 2017. Please see the Submission Guidelines for more details.

Hard copies of books should be sent to the following address:

FAO Ed Butler
Head of Risk Analysis, Pool Re Co Ltd
Equitable House
47 King William Street

Alternatively, digital copies should be sent to

The deadline for submissions is 13 July 2018.

The Airey Neave Trust (ANT) was established in 1979 by public subscription, to commemorate the life and work of Airey Neave, through further research and understanding in relation to Freedom under the Law, and with an emphasis on issues regarding the analysis of and the practical response to terrorist violence. ANT’s committee for identifying relevant publications and other projects, initially under the chairmanship of the late Professor Paul Wilkinson, e.g. in the last couple of years supported Dr John Horgan’s – Walking away from Terrorism, James Fergusson’s – The World’s Most Dangerous Place: Inside the Outlaw State of Somalia and James Harkin’s – Hunting Season –The execution of James Foley, Islamic State, and the real story of the kidnapping campaign that started a War.