AHRC Research in Film Awards 2018 – CALL FOR ENTRIES

Submissions for the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) Research in Film Awards 2018 are now open. The Awards, which are now in their fourth year, showcase new and emerging talent in filmmaking linked to arts and humanities research and celebrate the best of a growing number of high-quality short films (defined as no more than 30 minutes in length) that bring arts and humanities research to a wider public audience.

The categories

This year’s Awards include two new categories focused on migration and social media. “People on the Move: Stories of New Beginnings” aims to showcase the contribution of migration and its impact on places and communities, and the “Social Media Short Award”, recognises the increasing importance of social media as a channel for telling the story of research via short films.

Full list of categories for 2018:

  • Best Research Film of the Year
  • Doctoral Award or Early Career Film
  • People on the Move Award: Stories of New Beginnings
  • Social Media Short Award
  • Inspiration Award (public category)

For the fourth year running, the public are invited to submit a film which has been inspired by the art and humanities under the ‘Inspiration Award’. This could be a book, play, performance or exhibition which has fired the imagination.

Previous Research in Film Awards winners have gone on to produce further films as a result of the exposure or have gone on to secure funding, impact policymaking and secured airtime on national radio.

The Awards offer a unique opportunity for filmmakers working in the field of research to showcase their talent, while acknowledging the UK’s leading arts and humanities researchers and practitioners.

Closing Dates

The call for submissions closes at 4pm on 14 June 2018.

How to apply

Further details about the categories and eligibility can be found in the call guidance document and the online application form, both available on the AHRC website.

The films will be judged by a panel of academic and film industry experts, chaired by Jan Dalley, Arts Editor at the Financial Times. All nominees will be invited to an awards ceremony on Thursday 8 November at the home of BAFTA (195 Piccadilly, London), where the five winners will be announced. They will each receive a trophy and £2,000 prize money to put towards their future filmmaking endeavours.

Find out more information here.